Collection Schaffhausen

Hermann Schaaffhausen (1816-1893) was "scientific discoverer" of the Neanderthal Man und might be seen as co-founder of modern physical anthropology. This relates to specialist fields like e.g. paleoanthropology, but also to the institutionalisation of anthropology in societies. He was also co-founder of the Rheinisches Landesmuseum, today LVR-Landesmuseum Bonn.

To this day, the Museum's library preserves parts of Schaaffhausen's formerly very large private library (identifiable are most of these by their uniform binding), which contains - among other prints - many works, dedicated to him by other important scientists. These dedications illustrate very good his international scientific network.

ZB MED has digitized Schaaffhausen's own works and such in relation to him partly in connection with the Collection Physische Anthropologie (Physical Anthropology - Thomas Hösche-Collection) and supplements them with titles from the LVR-Landesmuseum in a special Digital Collection Schaaffhausen, especially in view of Schaaffhausen's 200. anniversary in 2016. Added are links to digitizations made by other libraries.

Also in connection with Schaaffhausen's 200. birthday, ZB MED has created a search portal "Schaaffhausen", which combines digitized "old" knowledge with "new" information.


Latest Additions > All Titles

Sammlung Schaaffhausen

Hermann Schaaffhausen (1816-1893) ist der "wissenschaftliche Entdecker" des Neandertalers und kann als wichtiger Mitbegründer der modernen physischen Anthropologie gesehen werden. Dies betrifft sowohl besondere Teilgebiete des Faches, wie z. B. die Paläoanthropologie, als auch die Institutionalisierung dieser Wissenschaft in Gesellschaften. Auch war er Mitbegründer des Rheinischen Landesmuseums, heute LVR-Landesmuseum Bonn.

Die Bibliothek des Museums bewahrt bis heute Teile von Schaaffhausens ehemals sehr umfangreichen Privatbibliothek auf (kenntlich sind die meisten davon durch ihren einheitlichen Einband), die u.a. viele ihm von bedeutenden anderen Wissenschaftlern gewidmete Werke enthält. Diese Widmungen bilden seine internationale wissenschaftliche Vernetzung sehr gut ab.

Schaaffhausens eigene Werke und auch solche mit Bezug auf ihn hat ZB MED schon teilweise im Zusammenhang der Digitalen Sammlung Physische Anthropologie (Thomas Hösche-Sammlung) digitalisiert und ergänzt sie - besonders im Hinblick auf die 200ste Wiederkehr von Schaaffhausens Geburtstag 2016 - mit Werken aus dem LVR-Landesmuseum in einer eigenen Digitalen Sammlung Schaaffhausen. Hinzu treten Verlinkungen zu Digitalisaten anderer Bibliotheken.

Ebenfalls zum 200. Geburtstag Schaaffhausens stellt ZB MED ein Themenportal "Schaaffhausen" zur Verfügung, in dem "altes Wissen" digital aufbereitet und bequem zugänglich gemacht wird, andererseits "neues Wissen" und Informationen, Daten oder Medientypen jenes ergänzen.


Aktuelle Neuzugänge > Alle Titel